www.johnencinas.com

It’s like being me and me

I shoot still images, that’s my thing. I’m not much of a video guy but, I wish I had more video of my kids playing their sports as they grow up. So adding video to my workflow has always been a plan. The problem is… I can either shoot stills OR shoot video, I can’t do both. This morning my son’s basketball coach called me and asked if I can shoot some videos of the team during this weekend’s upcoming tournament. Naturally I said Yes. But, I planned on shooting still images… what should I do?

The first thing I did was put my “Google-Fu” to the test and found this POST

So here is my attempt at the technique. I’ve had a CB Junior bracket for several years and thought it would make a good base for what I had in mind. I wanted to be able to shoot 1080p quality video and the only camera I had that is able to do that is my Nikon P500 point and shoot camera. One immediate advantage I found using this camera is the weight, it’s not too heavy. Putting the contraption together was surprisingly simple.

I attached the CB bracket to the D3s then the P500 to the top of the swinging arm of the CB bracket. I then ziptied the arm so that it wouldn’t swing.

There’s enough room where I can still manipulate both cameras without having to squeeze my fingers in to anything. This looks promising.

My plan is to continuously shoot video while shooting stills. At Post Processing, I’ll take the audio out (since all you’ll hear is the clicking of the camera) and will add music instead. OK, wish me luck… Results to follow.

3 responses

  1. That’s a good plan. Might be a good idea to have your tripod or mono pod handy, as that looks like a heavy rig! haha.

    12/30/12 at 7:02 pm

    • Yes, it’s heavy but, not too bad. I’ve abandoned this project, I’ve come to the realization that I have alot to learn in regards to video. I’m going to use the video options on my DSLRs if I need them. Happy New Year!

      01/02/13 at 1:38 pm

      • That’s cool. Ya you can get some great video out of these cameras for sure. It’s just to bad the auto focus isn’t quite there yet. Soon though I am sure 🙂

        01/02/13 at 5:45 pm

Leave a Reply

